. . .
  • P.O. Box 121 Surry Hills NSW 2010 Australia
  • 1300722878

2020 Awards for Excellence Postponed

Due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic R&CA has decided to postpone our Awards for Excellence program to October – November (dates yet to be confirmed). Nominations are still open but have been extended to July 31. Feel free to contact R&CA on 1300 722 878 or restncat@rca.asn.au for more information.



Restaurant & Catering Hostplus Awards for Excellence gives restaurants, cafes and caterers well deserved recognition for their hard work, exceptional food and outstanding service in this vibrant industry. The Awards are held in each state, recognising operators in metropolitan and regional centres. The R&CA awards are the only industry awards with an independent judging system with over 280 judges reporting to state Judge Chairs and a National Chief Judge.

This year we have made some changes to the Awards. All events will be a sit-down black tie gala dinner with entertainment and glam so you can bring your teams and celebrate in style. All nominated venues will now receive more comprehensive feedback on the judges’ experience to allow you to use the information to benefit the operations of the business. We hope you value the new feedback process.

The other exciting change that R&CA will be bringing to the Awards in 2020 is an education symposium devoted to the industry with the aim to inspire and provide insight on topics such as culture, social media, compliance and technology. Main speakers to be announced very soon!

 We are thrilled to share with you the 2020 Awards for Excellence! We look forward to having your business as part of this years program.

 State  Event Date  Venue


 “Overboard Café in Hillarys WA joined R&CA mainly for advice and support.  This year we entered the Awards for Excellence because we thought our staff deserved recognition for their continued hard work. Well, we won not only the best Café Award but also the Café of the Year Award, and the ongoing promotion of these awards has been a terrific benefit to our business growth. ”

Clive Pickering

Over Board Café, (2019 WA Café of the Year)


Restaurants have the opportunity to enter one of fourteen restaurant categories which is most relevant to their business while Casual Dining establishments have the opportunity to enter one of three casual dining categories. Both restaurant and casual dining establishments can also enter the awards for Best Breakfast and/or Tourism Restaurant. For those restaurants that also specialise in catering for events within their restaurant, they can enter the Restaurant Caterer category and submit a list of event options to be judged. Please note that WA Restaurants will have a separate entry form and options of category choices. The WA Restaurant nomination form is listed separately below.

Caterers have the opportunity to enter up to two catering categories that best suit their catering business out of seven catering categories.

Each establishment entered and judged in the awards are vying for the major accolades of Restaurant of the Year, Casual Dining of the Year and Caterer of the Year.


Click the links below to access nomination forms:

Restaurant Nomination Form

Restaurant Nomination Form (WA only)

Tourism Restaurant Form

Catering Nomination Form


To be eligible, venues must nominate for this category and will be judged based on their ability to meet at least 50% of a set of criteria.

The successful venue will receive fabulous marketing and advertising opportunities that are invaluable to your venue. Award winners will be presented with a trophy at the 2020 Restaurant and Catering Awards for Excellence, and access to a suite of ‘Healthy Kids Menus’ materials such as a guide for business, and branding materials which can be used for your venues promotional campaign. Click the link below to access the nomination form.

SA Healthy Choice Awards (SA only)


The aim of the Hospitality Awards is to honour true professionals in the hospitality industry who are dedicated to their profession. The organisers of these prestigious awards are seeking people who are outstanding and always prepared to strive to achieve excellence, and whose attitude and contribution to their profession has inspired public confidence in the hospitality Industry.

NSW Application Form

QLD/NT Application Form

ACT Application Form

WA Application Form

SA Application Form

VIC/TAS Application Form

Lifetime Achiever Nomination Form